F.T Island have been warmly welcomed back into the charts this week, with their first fully self-composed album, I Will. They already had a very successful start to the year in Europe, playing two sell-out dates in Paris back in January.

The first time I saw a member of F.T. Island was when watching the drama You’re Beautiful, where lead vocalist Hongki played the comical character Jeremy in fictional band A.N.JELL. He contributed some solo tracks to the OST, and I was pleased to discover he’s much more than just a pretty face.

F.T. Island, short for Five Treasure Island, are a five-member pop-rock band under FNC Entertainment. They write and perform their own music, playing live instruments instead of dancing. They are: Jonghoon (leader/guitar and keyboards), Hongki (lead vocals), Jaejin (bass), Seunghyun (guitar) and Minhwan (drums). While Hongki was off filming his drama in 2009, a sub-group known as F.T. Triple was formed, consisting of Jaejin, Jonghoon and Minhwan.

F.T Island’s debut album in June 2007 was called Cheerful Sensibility, which they followed up with Colorful Sensibility. These albums, plus their first Japanese releases, were made with Oh Wonbin on guitars. He was replaced by Seunghyun in January 2009. The band has released six original studio Korean albums to date, and six Japanese albums, with a seventh slated for release in May 2015.

If the first few months are anything to go by, 2015 should be another rockin’ year for this stylish and talented K-pop-rock group.

Recommended MVs

Pray – from new album I Will


Hello Hello

To the Light – includes footage of the Paris shows

Madly – Live band practice

F.T. Triple


About Author

British writer and editor living in Japan. Currently studying Japanese, Korean, K-pop dance, and the fine form of 이성종's legs.