SMTOWN has announced their annual company concert will be streamed for free this year!

SMTOWN LIVE ‘Culture Humanity’ will take place at 1pm KST on New Years Day – the slightly inconvenient time of 4am here in the UK, though many of us will have nowhere to be on December 1st so early morning watching may be in order!

SM Entertainment is quoted as saying:

The SMTOWN LIVE Culture Humanity concert is meant to comfort and give hope to those affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, and fans can enjoy the performances for free in the comfort of their own homes.

The line up reveals a large majority of the company’s artists will be involved. Announced artists are:

  • Kangta
  • TVXQ
  • Super Junior
  • Taeyeon of Girls’ Generation
  • Taemin of SHINee
  • Baekhyun and Kai of EXO
  • Red Velvet
  • NCT U
  • NCT 127
  • NCT Dream
  • WayV
  • SuperM
  • aespa
  • DJ (Raiden / GINJO / IMLAY) of SMEnt / ScreaM Records
SEE ALSO  aespa announce debut concert film: aespa: WORLD TOUR in cinemas!

There are some notable absences, namely BoA, EXO-SC, and Xiumin who are all active. Fans have been quick to note this on SM posts – and the lack of reunion for GG and SHINee – some even accusing the company of unfair treatment. While SM may not have the best track record, there is likely reason for their absence.

This year will mark the SMTOWN LIVE debut performances for NCT U, WayV and aespa and will see Kangta make his return to SMTOWN LIVE after an absence from the last SMTOWN concert in Tokyo following a relationship ‘scandal’.

The concert is set to be viewable on VLIVE, Beyond LIVE, Youtube, Twitter, Facebook, TikTok and KNTV.


About Author

Graphic Designer. Perfectionist. Gothy weirdo. Korean Indie Guru. Supreme witch of UnitedKpop and BritROK covens.