Brightening up the K-pop skies again this month are Rainbow, with their third album Innocent.

The seven girls are Jaekyung (leader), Woori, Hyunyoung, Noeul, Seungah, Yoonhye and Jisook (maknae).

The girls debuted in November 2009 with Gossip Girl, and they’re with DSP Media, the same label as KARA. Although their name is Rainbow, and each girl has her own official colour, they’re rarely seen wearing them in the group MVs. Aside from their debut, most of their styling has been uniform white or black. Most often it’s predictably cutesy/innocent white and sexy/dominatrix black, although the Japanese Gonna Gonna Go! stylists managed to make white both sexy (hotpants!) and cute (fluffy tutus!).

The girls have released two mini-albums before Innocent: Over the Rainbow in 2012 and Rainbow Syndrome in 2013, plus some Japanese singles. They also created the opening and closing tracks for a Japanese/Korean anime in 2012 made by Sega Toys, Zoobles.

There have been two sub-units releases, Rainbow Pixie (Seungah, Jisook and Hyunyoung) and Rainbow Blaxx (Jaekyung, Woori, Seungah and Hyunyoung again!)

If the girls’ faces already look familiar, you might have seen them on TV in other guises. Woori has appeared in three KBS shows, Noeul on MBC’s Time Slip Dr Jin, Jaekyung on jTBC’s Monster and Seungah on both tvN’s The Romantic and Idol and SS501’s A Song Calling for You MV. And here’s one last interesting Rainbow note for you: Yoonhye’s cousin is Roy Kim, the solo artist and former winner of Superstar K4.

Recommended MVs

Black Swan – the first track from Innocent


Tell Me Tell Me – Dance practice that shows off the girls’ cute moves

Sunshine – dance version

Gonna Gonna Go! – Japanese release

Rainbow Pixie – Hoi Hoi

Rainbow Blaxx – Cha Cha


About Author

British writer and editor living in Japan. Currently studying Japanese, Korean, K-pop dance, and the fine form of 이성종's legs.