It is rare for a rookie artists to gather such attention before their debut. However, in the first week of 2017, there is already a huge interest in Happy Face Entertainment’s new seven member girl group, Dreamcatcher, who are stepping up their game weeks before the album even drops online.

What makes this debut interesting as it is in fact a reboot of a previous unit. JiU, SuA, Siyeon, Yoohyeon and Dami previously formed Minx, who were promoted as the sister group of Happy Face’s girl group, Dalshabet. Making their debut in 2014 with “Why Did You Come to My Home?”, they impressed with their infectious single, bright image and high vocal range among the main vocalists.

After that, Minx only released one extended play, “Love Shake” in the Summer of 2015 before disappearing from the Kpop scene.

In November 2016, it was revealed that Minx would be joined by two more members; Gahyeon and Handong to re-debut under the name of Dreamcatcher. Ever since then, Happy Face has occasionally revealed teasers of each member and vocal practice videos.

Fans have noticed the group’s strong vocal ability with each member harmonizing, comparing their skills to popular group, MAMAMOO. However, it doesn’t end there. They have given fans a taste of their razor-sharp dancing in a practice video to Amelia Lily’s “Shut Up (And Give Me Whatever You Got)”

If talent wasn’t enough to gather attention, Dreamcatcher will be making their mark with their debut, steering far away from the traditional girl group concept. Recent teaser pictures and videos have revealed that their mini-album will be focused on a horror concept, with the girls dressed in black lace robes and performing rituals on a unsuspecting teddy bear.

Minx will be reborn as Dreamcatcher, with the bewitching track, “Chase Me” available to buy and stream on January 13th – Friday the 13th to be exact. Be prepared, it’ll be a Nightmare you’ll never forget.


About Author